Mapping subobjects whose types and names differ?

May 22, 2014 at 4:01 PM
Edited May 22, 2014 at 4:01 PM
Hello, I want to substitute FastMapper for Automapper and most of my scenarios are simple, but I'm running into an issue with the following case and need to know if FastMapper can handle this.

The issue I have is that it doesn’t look like it will map by convention for subobjects whose names and types don’t match. I could be wrong because I just started playing with it yesterday but I don’t see a way to do it at least. For example, it balks at the mapping below because it wants dest.AppliedDiscount to be the same type as src.Discount.Discount. They are in fact different types but they should be mappable by convention (or via configuration).
TypeAdapterConfig<Entities.Discounts.ShippingDiscount, ShippingDiscount>.NewConfig()
                  .MapFrom(dest => dest.Code, src => src.MethodCode)
                  .MapFrom(dest => dest.AppliedDiscount, src => src.Discount.Discount); //FastMapper doesn’t like this, it wants these types to match.  They have the same members but are different types
Coordinator
May 22, 2014 at 9:03 PM
Edited May 22, 2014 at 9:06 PM
Hi ericswann,

Please try to convert the same type,
   TypeAdapterConfig<Entities.Discounts.ShippingDiscount, ShippingDiscount>
   .NewConfig()
   .MapFrom(dest => dest.AppliedDiscount, src => (double)src.Discount.Discount);
or
   TypeAdapterConfig<Entities.Discounts.ShippingDiscount, ShippingDiscount>
   .NewConfig()
   .MapFrom(dest => dest.AppliedDiscount, src => Convert.ToDouble(src.Discount.Discount));
"double" is sample. convert to AppliedDiscount property type.

Thank you for your interest :)
May 22, 2014 at 9:21 PM
Edited May 22, 2014 at 9:49 PM